MLB Offseason Award Predicitions

Charlie Abt

           With the Major League Baseball regular season now complete, it is time for BBWAA voters to submit their ballots for the seasonal awards that include Manager of the Year, Rookie of the Year, the CY Young award, and Most Valuable Player.

NL Manager of the Year: Mike Shildt

        Last year Mike Shildt took over the Cardinals midseason and helped them improve enough for him to get the interim manager tag removed and become the Cardinals full time manager. They responded this season by winning the NL Central over the Chicago Cubs and Milwaukee Brewers.

Honorable mentions: Craig Counsell; Milwaukee Brewers and Brain Snitker; Atlanta Braves

AL Manager of the Year: Aaron Boone; New York Yankees

      Aaron Boone led the Yankees to the second best record in the AL and third best in all of baseball, despite the fact that they suffered a plethora of injuries to some of their best players in Aaron Judge, Giancarlo Stanton, and Luis Severino. 

Honorable mentions: Rocco Baldelli; Minnesota Twins, Kevin Cash; Tampa Bay Rays

NL Rookie of the Year: Pete Alonso; New York Mets

    This appears to be a lock, Alonso broke the all time MLB rookie home run record with 53 homeruns to go along with a .260 batting average, 120 runs batted in, and a .941 OPS. He led the MLB in home runs as a rookie, and he was named to the National League All Star team. Alonso should win almost unanimously. It would have been closer had San Diego Padres rookie Fernando Tatis Jr. never gotten hurt.

Honorable mentions: Fernando Tatis Jr; San Diego Padres, Mike Soroka; Atlanta Braves

 AL Rookie of the Year: Yordan Alvarez; Houston Astros

         Yordan Alvarez came up in June and was a wrecking ball for the already powerful Astros offense. He hit 27 home runs along with a .313 batting average, 78 runs batted in, and a 1.067 OPS. The AL class wasn’t close to as strong as the NL, so this should be an easy win for Alvarez.

Honorable mentions: John Means; Baltimore Orioles, Vladimir Guerrero Jr; Toronto Blue Jays

NL CY Young: Jacob Degrom; New York Mets

        The 2018 NL CY Young winner was back at it again this year with another great season in which he led all National League pitchers in strikeouts and in WAR and was second in ERA and WHIP. While Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Hyun-Jin Ryu led the MLB in ERA, he also didn’t finish top 10 in either strikeouts or innings pitched in the National League.

Honorable mentions: Hyun-Jin Ryu; Los Angeles Dodgers, Max Scherzer; Washington Nationals

AL CY Young: Gerrit Cole; Houston Astros

    This will be one of the closest races as Cole’s teammate, Justin Verlander, also had an outstanding season. Cole has the edge with more strikeouts and a lower ERA. He led MLB in strikeouts this year with 326, he had 26 more strikeouts than Verlander despite pitching 11 innings less. This is really a toss up, as either one could win and no one would be shocked.

Honorable mentions: Justin Verlander; Houston Astros, Charlie Morton; Tampa Bay Rays

  NL MVP: Cody Bellinger; Los Angeles Dodgers

This was a very close race throughout the season. Unfortunately Bellinger’s biggest competitor for the award, reigning NL MVP, Christian Yelich suffered a fractured knee cap when he fouled a ball off his knee. Bellinger had a phenomenal season, in which he hit .305 with 47 home runs along with a 1.035 OPS, and led the Dodgers to the best record in the National League.

Honorable mentions: Christian Yelich; Milwaukee Brewers, Anthony Rendon; Washington National

AL MVP: Mike Trout; Los Angeles Angels

Mike Trout is widely considered to be the best player in baseball. There is always a debate as to whether he should be MVP as his team has missed the postseason in all but one season during his career.To add on to that, he was injured for most of the final month of this season, and that opened the door for others to enter the conversation. Alex Bregman and Marcus Semien are two great players who had outstanding years, and each played a tremendous role in helping their team reach the playoffs. In the end, Mike Trout should be the AL MVP for the third time in his career.

Honorable mentions: Alex Bregman; Houston Astros, Marcus Semien, Oakland Athletics